Government of India Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana (PMSSY) Department of Health & Family Welfare
Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana (PMSSY) - Government of India
Aiims Rishikesh Aiims Jodhpur Aiims Bhubaneswar Aiims Bhopal Aiims Patna Aiims Raipur Aiims Raebareli Aiims Manglagiri Aiims Gorakhpur AIIMS Bathinda AIIMS Kalyani Aiims Deoghar Aiims Nagpur AIIMS Bilaspur AIIMS Bibinagar AIIMS Rajkot AIIMS Jammu Aiims Guwahati Aiims Madurai


  • PMSSY Scheme Announced in 2003 and Launched in 2006.


  • Objective -
    • to correct regional imbalances in the availability of tertiary healthcare services and to augment facilities for quality medical education in the country


  • Two components
    • setting up of new AIIMS and
    • upgradation of existing Govt. Medical Colleges / Institutions (GMCIs)


  • Setting up of new AIIMS inter alia involves:
  • 750 or 960 bedded hospital
  • 18/17 Specialty/Super-Specialty departments
  • 100 MBBS/ 60 Nursing seats
  • Focus on PG Education


  • Upgradation of GMCs involves:
  • Creation of Super-Specialty departments – ranging from 8 to 10
  • Additional 150-200 beds
  • Around 15 new PG seats
  • Average cost: Rs. 200 crore - shared 60:40 between Centre and States
  • HR and running cost to be provided by the State Govt.