Government of India Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana (PMSSY) Department of Health & Family Welfare
Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana (PMSSY) - Government of India
Aiims Rishikesh Aiims Jodhpur Aiims Bhubaneswar Aiims Bhopal Aiims Patna Aiims Raipur Aiims Raebareli Aiims Manglagiri Aiims Gorakhpur AIIMS Bathinda AIIMS Kalyani Aiims Deoghar Aiims Nagpur AIIMS Bilaspur AIIMS Bibinagar AIIMS Rajkot AIIMS Jammu Aiims Guwahati Aiims Madurai

Futuristic Vision

Replicating AIIMS like institutions as a part of PMSSY is a most welcome initiative. However, it would adopt the same pattern that was considered by Bhore Committee nearly 75 years ago. Subsequent advances in biomedical sciences may necessitate consideration of additional models of biomedical research and post-graduate training and education in highly specialized areas.The advances in biomedical sciences suggest creation of Institutes and Centres, each with a specific research agenda, focusing on specific constellation of diseases or body systems. The following list includes the institutes that may be of relevance to national needs, and may be established during the 12th Five Year Plan:
  • National Cancer Institute
  • National Institute of Infectious Diseases
  • National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal Diseases
  • National Institute of Child Health
  • National Institute of Diabetes
  • National Institute of Mental Health and Behavioural Sciences
  • National Centre of Life Sciences
  • National Centre of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering
  • National Centre for Hospital and Healthcare Administration
  • National Centre for Nursing Education and Research
  • National Centre for Information Technology (IT) and Telemedicine
  • National Centre for Complementary Medicine